Happy Halloween ADHD Nightowls- Sleep Issues and ADHD

Happy Halloween,

Happy All Hallows’ Eve
Happy Samhain
to all Witches, Monsters, Zombies, Vampires, Werewolves,  and other Nightowls ( like me) ! 🙂
And my best wishes to all those celebrating Todos Tus Muertos!

This image was selected as a picture of the we...

This image was selected as a picture of the week on the Malay Wikipedia for the 29th week, 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia) User: Tomascastelazo

For the last day of the ADHD Awareness Month, I wanna share some thoughts about ADHD and sleep issues, like getting to bed, relaxing, sleeping through, getting tired and all these other sleep issues we can have.

Sleep issues are very common for people with ADD.

I always say I don’t have a sleep issue- when I finally go to bed in the late night/ early morning hours,  I sleep well and as long as I can. My only problem is to get up ( in the morning).
For example right now it is almost midnight, I had a long day, but I sit here drinking caffeineited drinks and started writing a post.
As I learned, going to bed very late, is also considered a sleep issue.
Ups! So that means I have a sleep issue, too!?

How many alarms do You set, when You have an important date next day?

I set 2 alarms: one close to my bed that I press snooze for as long as I can ( could be for an hour…) and one farer away of my bed to really get up ( though I managed more than once to sleep over that farer away alarm). If it is really really important to get up, I sometimes set 3 alarms. And You?

Getting to bed earlier vs. late night Creativity flow

I say and I heard from other ADDers, too that night time is the best time for me for creative work, thoughtful thinking, writing, painting, … Best ideas come up when I am over the tiredness and awake again, it’s like if I get over the first attack of evening tiredness, i shake of my ADD distraction and can finally start to focus. Sounds familiar?
Actually night time is for many a good creative time- the house is quiet, the streets outside, too, there is noone to call and noone calls usually at that time, so
Late in the night there are less distractions!

Also you might have planned or tried to start something the whole day, only to be distracted, doing all sorts of other things and finally, when it gets late, you can focus on the actual planned project.
For me it’s like, now I have procastinated enough, turned enough rounds and comforted myself with the plan to start, so now I can finally do it!
My behaviour just now reminds me of a dog that turns around for a while, before actually lying down on its place to sleep. I need to turn rounds a whole day till I actually get awake!

A lack of sleep can increase ADD symptoms.

I do recall that for sure!

And if we can get enough sleep and can sleep long the next day, going late to bed might not affect us.
But there are also sleep expert scientists who say, the best time for sleep is around 10 pm  and getting up is best around 6 to 8 am.
Because we have biological clocks inside us, that don’t care about what time we went to sleep and how long we slept. It has to do with serotonin level and melotonin. These scientists say, that everybody is best concentrated around 9 and 10 am and that our body starts relaxing and gets ready for sleep after 6 pm. At 3 to 4 am , we have lowest energy, eyesight is not good, etc. Also to several times of the day, our organs have an increased function- it’s their time for digesting the most, getting rid of substances, metabolize, etc.

On the other hand there is a scientific discussion, that some people and their biological clocks, are early birds and others night owls. So it depends what kind of person you are and if you still get enough sleep. So that your body will justify itself to your living rhythm.

What do You believe? What are Your experiences? Have You observed yourself, when your best perfomance time and best time for awake-sleep-rhythm is?

I think this absolutely true:

We need enough and relaxing sleep.

So if  You want or need to change your rhythm or if you want / need to get up early and go early to bed or if you wish to sleep but have difficulties to  do so, I will share some informations soon, about

Herbal Treatment, Herbs that can help for better sleep and relaxation.

Stay tuned 😉
i love to read Your comments about Your experiences with sleep.

2 thoughts on “Happy Halloween ADHD Nightowls- Sleep Issues and ADHD

  1. I am normally up until 3 am I have so many things i enjoy doing i am alot like a kid. I was actually a little disappointed when i finished my book, because i did not know what to do

  2. Uhhh I know the feeling when I finished something big. Just recently I finished my onlineshop for my second business, a huge project and then I crashed emotionally….nothing new to do?…now I thought I might reorganise things cuz I need space: so everything is on the floor now and I have no idea where to put it, its like cleaning up now- dont like it. Maybe I go to bed now and yes! its 3 am 😉 I always start new projects and do things, keeps me busy in the night 🙂
    Btw… I would love to have an organising and cleaning person who loves to clean up! So I can make all the mess and just be busy with doing fun stuff! 🙂

What do You think?

