The 15 minute timer thing

So in all those books and articles about managing your day as ADD, I always come along a 15 minute timer.

What is it about these magic 15 minutes?
Is it the time for working on something for a short (15 minute) time and then take a break? And how long should that break be?

I cannot imagine myself working with an alarm clock all the time. In fact I hate alarm clocks!!! Alarm clocks mean, I have to get up. I have to wake up. I have to interrupt my beautiful sleep, my wonderful dreams. How shall I reprogram my brain to: alarm ring is nice?
I am afraid, if my brain sticks to alarm ring is something nice, than I will have a real hard time not to oversleep important appointments in the morning, cuz my body likes the sound of the alarm… In fact I already have that problem.;-)
How about a 15 minute song?
Or better: How about songs that play after every 15 minutes and I get a break while listening to the song. mhhhmmm…An idea for a play list?

And I cant imagine either, to interrupt myself when I finally get motivated to do something, every 15 minutes. How long will the break take? And how shall I motivate myself again?

What I do understand is the need for smaller activities, to break down a big task in small pieces, for not feeling overwhelmed.
I will try…..

What do You think?

